wishes

 

With thanks to Walt Disney.

With thanks to Walt Disney.

Jiminy Cricket taught me to wish.

I grew up in a practical no-nonsense sort of home.  We dealt with reality and I don’t remember wishing for much.   There was, of course, the blow-out-your-candles wishes and the what-do -you-wish-for Christmas wishes. Other than that wish was not a word I was familiar with.   Until Mr Cricket enlightened me. After that,  I did wish upon stars.  I also understood  that wishes and Jiminy Cricket were just magical things that made life fun.  But they weren’t real.

Now that I am much older, I still have many wishes.  They still seem to be practical.

Here is a list of some of my daily wishes.

I wish the print in the phone book was larger, as well as the printed directions on the back of food packages.

I wish people would use turn signals consistently.

I with the oldies stations were still playing songs from the 60′s.

I wish my grandchildren lived next door.

I wish lids were easier to unscrew, packaged bottled water wasn’t so heavy, things didn’t fall apart so quickly, toilet paper was free,  and my cat could talk.

I wish  my youngest child finds the job of their dreams.

I wish I could go back in time for a few hours whenever I felt like it.

I wish the litter box was self-cleaning.

I wish I had as much energy as I did 20 years ago.

Oh, and, of course,  world peace.

So…. what do you wish for?

25 thoughts on “wishes

  1. LB says:

    As I read through all of the comments, I pondered what I wished for.
    There’s the big wishes – a healthier planet, and more people who knew how important a healthy planet is; peace on earth; less apathy, more generosity, less hunger, more equality …
    But then there’s the smaller, more selfish ones – losing those stubborn 10 pounds, a new roof and windows, less poison ivy in my yard.
    I did have one wish come true: My son is happy, healthy and doing well! And my parents are still here and also happy and healthy (okay that was two wishes).

  2. I wish my (grown) kids would call/email/visit more often.
    I wish people (in general) were kinder to one another.
    I wish everyone (around the world) paid more attention to the damage we’re (as a species) doing to the planet.
    I wish music was as good as it was in the 60s!
    Great post!

  3. You musta been readin’ my mind … I got the same list.

    ‘cept we are getting my granddaughter a kitten in a couple of weeks and did buy a self-cleaning litter box. It’s great.

    Sorry I haven’t been ’round lately. Health and family issues been eatin’ up all my time. Hope all is well in your corner.

    blessings ~ maxi

  4. I wish I never aged, there fore not having to adjust ones life… ;) While at Disney years ago now we had an art lesson and drew Jiminy. Quite pleased with my effort, daughters was best. ;)

What do you think?

