Everyone into the pool!

Wait a minute… there must be some mistake.  The pool is full of…. Well…. Very mature ladies…… There are 3 of us who do not have totally gray hair…. One is the instructor.  The other lady is an acquaintance  and she totally colors her hair.  I am the youngest person in the water (besides the instructor).

It’s not what I expected. But seriously,  who is going to be in a water aerobic class that meets at 8:45 AM?  No one that has a job that’s for sure.   And no one that can move quickly on dry land.

I give it a whirl, or maybe I should say swirl.   How hard can it be?  These ladies have been doing this all winter. They’re still kicking!   When they pass out the water weights, the instructor gives me the yellow ones… the medium weights.  Everyone else has blue…. the heavy weights!  This is going to be a piece of cake.

I am the only new person in the class so when the instructor shouts out the instructions I am totally lost… everyone else knows what to do.  Luckily a couple of other retired teachers latch on to me and tell me what to do.  Maybe not such a piece of cake.   The water weights are more intense than I thought they would be… just try keeping floatie weights submerged while you move them through the water.  Not as easy as it looks. When class ends I realize it was fun and we have been moving for 60 minutes!  That is more than I could do in a regular fitness class.  I look around again at the gray-haired ladies but this time with a little more respect.

But,  just to show them that I AM the youngest person in the class, at the end of the session when everyone else is getting out of the pool, I choose to swim the length of the pool.   Ha… I will show those old ladies!

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everyone into the pool!

  1. Kendra says:

    I did not know you had a blog. I like it. Maybe some day I will have a retirement blog, maybe.

    Like

What do you think?

