Back-to-school (Part 1)

When I started school in 1956  I had a pair of  big old cloppy saddle shoes.  They were purchased at least one size too big so that they would last the entire school year and I wouldn’t grow out of them.  Yep, that’s how it was done in my family.

I wore headscarves.  I looked like a Russian immigrant.  My Mom insisted that whenever it was cold, windy, rainy, snowy, chilly, cloudy, or whatever I had to wear a headscarf,  so I wouldnt catch cold.  Yep, and as soon as the bus took off down the road, I would rip that headscarf right off.

 

I kept my crayons (all 8 of them) in a Velveeta Cheese Box.  Yep … along with a jar of paste and a couple of really big fat pencils.

 

My Mom was very resourceful. I carried my lunch money tied in the corner of a handkerchief.  It was less likely to be lost that way and I also had something to blow my nose on!

More school adventures to follow….

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back-to-school (Part 1)

  1. I had a pair of those shoes, but not until 1963-64 when I was in grade 5 — they never went out of style – or the real question is – were they ever in style – love you memories
    your scarf story reminds me of the fact that we had to wear skirts to school, but when it was cold my mom made me wear cordoroy pants underneath – what stupid rules the schools had back then

    Like

  2. Amy Elder says:

    Yes, yes, no, yes. I never had a velveeta cheese box

    Like

What do you think?

