September

“September” by Helen Hunt Jackson from Songs of the Treetop and Meadow, pub. 1898

The golden-rod is yellow;
The corn is turning brown;
The trees in apple orchards
With fruit are bearing down

apple orchard in September with my September daugher and her daughter…

September- a month made for music and poetry.  My first child was born in September and that marked a change in my life like no other.   For an old  retired teacher like me, it still means new beginnings.

See you in September!  But only for a few more days!

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to September

  1. marymtf says:

    Singers wearing suits, it looks so funny now, even if the music rising up above those collars were just fabulous. I must admit I don’t know the song. My first was born in May. I have children and grandchildren’s brithdays scattered through the year. I get to be sentimental all year round.

    Like

  2. grandmalin says:

    What a great video – wearing suits at the beach, synchronized finger snapping – it’s just got it all. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m planning a trip to the orchard if it ever stops ringing on my days off this month. Our tree, sadly, produced nothing this year.

    Like

  4. OMYgosh take me back to every summer’s end, always breaking up with someone. LOl…
    O- Ruth Thank you. I so love that you “”DO” music too. Fabulous post

    ♫♪♫ Bye bye, so long, Farewell. ♫♪♫♪

    Like

What do you think?

