Everyone into the pool (part 2)

Almost 5 months ago I started this blog and a water aerobics class.  Both for my health.  One mental, the other physical.

On the first day of water aerobics, I was intimidated.  Everyone knew what to do.  Everyone knew each other.  Everyone had their “spot” in the pool.  And along came me with no clue and no real “spot” .

I quickly became friends with Jeanne, who proclaimed, “This is where the shallow people hang out!”  Jeanne is 85 years young and refers to the shallow people as the ones who work out in the shallow end of the pool. For no other reason than we are short and don’t want to get in over our heads.    She has been a delight, we have only lived 8 miles apart for the last 40 years, and we have all kinds of friend connections.

“Well,” she says.  “My sister-in-law once dated a cousin of your sister-in-law…..”   The story continues daily about common acquaintances and relatives.

She started calling my husband “Mighty Mouse” because in the little village she lives in, he is the one they call when a water main breaks.  And there have been several breaks this past summer.   ♫  “Here he comes to save the day!” she sings.♫♪♫      And he does.

Last week we sang Happy Birthday to Gladys who turned 91 and drives herself to the YMCA  3 times a week  and keeps up with the best of them.   She was a good friend of my neighbor, who was a great friend of my mother-in-law, both whom have passed away.   You get the picture.   Living in small town America means everyone has a connection of some sort and I  love it.

On my first day of blogging I was also  intimidated.  Everyone else’s blog was up and running and some were quite impressive with buttons and badges and whatnot.  I almost quit,  thinking that other bloggers would probably laugh at me and wonder what I was thinking.   Everyone else had found their “spot”  in the blogosphere.

I posted a few blogs and still felt so alone … Then I read the directions.    

I discovered I had to add a “like”  button and a “comment” button.   There I was again with no clue and no real spot!

Soon I got some “likes” and soon a few people started to comment.  And I began to recognize their names because they continued to comment on my posts.  I looked them up and followed them.   We had connections!!!  Not with people and neighbors and relatives, but with ideas and beliefs!  It was great.

I discovered the support and forums on wordpress which I should have read first.   That was an enormous help with the technical issues and also on finding a voice and a “spot”.

I have learned so much in the past 5 months….from how to cross-country ski in the swimming pool to how to post a Widget.  

  The best thing I have gained though, are those  connections….

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Everyone into the pool (part 2)

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh, bless your heart, baby! I love this! Finding a spot–wow, that’s a universal cringe, isn’t it. Connections–that is the true gift here!! God bless you–love, Caddo

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I love water aerobics. I’m in the pool at once a week. And yes skiing is fun in the water!!! Congrats on both the water aerobics and your blog!

    Like

  3. gigihawaii says:

    I started my blog on Nov 20, 2006 and have met a number of bloggers in person since then. Usually, we meet for lunch. Thanks for visiting my blog a few days ago. Always glad to make new friends. Aloha from Hawaii.

    Like

  4. I started water areobics last January…”New Year’s Resolution”…and I love it… an exercise I like as well as can do…Have encountered the same thing as you… people who live close…this one knows that one…and these “elderly” people who show me up every day…
    I too, love the blogging scene…on my second year…and it’s funny how you meet people who have similar interest…It truly is a “small world!”…mkg

    Like

  5. So glad the pool and the blogosphere have worked out so well for you, Ruth. I’ve been at this for a couple of months, and I was amazed that people would come by and read what I had written – and they stayed. I’ve gradually followed and unfollowed until I am delighted with the friends/acquaintances I’ve made, and I look forward to everyone’s posts. So nice to have “met” you.

    Like

  6. I just started this year too. It’s incredible how many people you can “meet” this way. I’m learning so much from other bloggers as I go.

    Like

  7. Amy Elder says:

    Some day I will figure how to add pictures to my blog. Hopefully when I get my PC up and running.

    Like

  8. I completely agree. I too have been blogging on and off for five months. It is a whole new world of widgets and ping-backs – who knew? A few kind bloggers gave me emotional support and confidence when they started commenting on my site and since then, because of their links my readership has increased. It is all infectious. These people are so nice!

    Like

What do you think?

