Six Word Saturday

Homemade Noodles

off the Bucket List!

homemade noodles drying

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Six Word Saturday

  1. You are brave! I remember my mom making homemade noodles, and my dad making her these drying racks for hers out of white pine. Wish i had those racks today.
    I should try too one day.
    Did you make egg noodles?

    Like

    • Yes, egg noodles…. 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups flour, 1/2 t salt, 1 t. cold water. Mix and roll out. My friend has a pasta maker so we cranked the dough through that and just laid them flat to dry on wax paper. There were 3 of us working on them. We made 17 pounds…. trying the first batch for supper tonight…. My first time….. I guess I was a noodle virgin! LOL

      Like

      • Giggling out loud @ noodle virgin.. as long as you are not a virgin noodle… sorry could not help myself.. You started it! 😉

        I have copied the recipe, I thank you! When mixing did you do it by hand or food processor? Or something else? I will have to hand cut mine but I’d not mind. Sound like a great adventure thanks you!

        Like

        • ::) giggling, too. not even sure what a virgin noodle is… but it sounds funny! We whisked the eggs, salt, and water together, then added the flour and then mixed with our hands…. It’s messy but therapeutic at the same time…. kneaded it until it was well mixed. If its tacky or sticky add a bit more flour Then roll out …… cutting by hand is even better.. they will look more … more…. homemade! Some people use a pizza cutter but a knife will do. Good luck and have fun. I don’t know why I never tried it before… I guess I thought it was difficult… but it’s not!

          Like

        • I have no cl;ue what a virgin noodle is either but also thought it sounded too funny to pass up. Thanks for the mixing tips. Think that is a perfect project this weekend. You are awesome Ruth
          Enjoy your noodles. it just sound funny! It must be the word noddle is just striking me funny ever since you added virgin to it. Its those giggles that will not go away~ .

          Like

  2. Karen says:

    Now I am getting hungry…. and I have to go work out right now…!!!

    Like

  3. I bet they were great. And it’s still on my list.

    Like

  4. You are so creative with six words! I’ve never made noodles, but love liver and onions. I think the the noodles would go well with L&O.

    Like

  5. Now, that would make a great Picture it & write pic….
    And, by the way, congrats… still on mine…!

    Like

  6. grandmalin says:

    Home made noodles never made it on to my life list. I’m skipping them. But I admire your accomplishment.

    Like

  7. theroommom says:

    I made these too. Love them.

    Like

  8. Caddo Veil says:

    Mmm, noodles sound wonderful–I’m starved!!

    Like

  9. Amy Elder says:

    Knitted hat finished, it’s to big.

    Like

  10. Life list it is! I do believe you could add noodles to Liver and Onions. (trying to come up with a clever name for this recipe) 😦

    Like

  11. life list – bucket list is too morbid (lol)–do these go with liver and onions?

    Like

What do you think?

