I am NOT bah humbug!

I don’t think I am.  Bah Humbug, that is.  I really DO care. Sometimes I think that others see me as a “don’t care” kind of person because I am restrained and laid-back.

I am the person in the crowd already calling 911 when  everyone else is panicking.  I am the teacher on the playground who calmly supports the obviously broken arm of a student who has just fallen off the slide, speaking to her calmly while she screams bloody murder. I am the farm wife who runs into the house to rip blankets off the bed to cover an injured farm worker. I don’t lose my cool, I usually remember what to do in an emergency, and I don’t get really excited about cute babies or rock stars. I am the person who could never go “on strike” because I just can’t get that worked up about issues.

I would never get picked to be a contestant on “The Price is Right”  If I won the lottery, I would calmly drive to the Lottery Commission and pick up the check., put it in the bank or wherever and calmly go about my business.  If Paul McCartney‘s car broke down in front of my house (one of my fantasies) I would call the Auto Club and invite him in for milk and cookies.   We would, of course, become great friends forever and I would someday sing a duet with him and ….ooops ok, enough of that.  I would not scream or pass out and I would have my camera charged!

I never use the word precious or sweet and I don’t remember saying cootchecoo to any of my kids when they were babies.  I have never hyperventilated and have never had a panic attack. I frequently roll my eyes.

This is NOT me.

This whole introspective assessment of myself rears its head every Christmas.  I am not fond of holidays in general and I never really understood why. For the most part I thought it was because I was a working woman, and holidays tend to add a lot of stress to women (and some men) who now have added responsibilities during holidays ( make the holidays fun for everyone else)  OK that does sound a little bit  bah humbuggy, doesn’t it?

I think many women, mothers, grandmothers, feel that need.  The need to make the holidays perfect for their families. We love them and we want them to be happy.  It’s a lot of pressure.

Is this a good way to be?  Probably not.  Even though I seem calm and collected, I  tend to keep my feelings bottled up inside.  I know that’s not a good thing and results in an occasional incoherent outburst from me (usually in front of a very small audience, my husband)   And then there’s the high blood pressure.  Yeah.

So what about you?   What type of person are you?   Do you thrive on stress?  Do you hold everything in? Do you try to make the holidays perfect for everyone?

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I am NOT bah humbug!

  1. lucewriter says:

    Yup, I tend to feel as you do. But then I am the person who turns the channel when they kiss on TV. After rolling my eyes.

    Like

  2. I tend to keep everything inside…even thought I know that’s not good for me. And I HATE the holidays.

    Like

  3. I’m slow to boil. I pick my battles. But boy, when I’m boiling, yikes! Fortunately that’s happened maybe 5 times in my life. My blood pressure is normal and sometimes even a little lower than normal, like 80/60. Usually the situation is too stupid for words. Or the person I’m dealing with is being too stupid for words. In my world, the pen is mightier than the sword so if someone crosses me, I’m likely to send a letter to the president of something. I think the more experience you have with drama, the easier it is to deal with. It’s like everything else: practice makes perfect. I would not be a good contestant on the Price is Right either. Their sponsors would pull out. I frequently roll my eyes too and mutter, “Oh, brother.”

    Like

  4. Pingback: Seasons Greetings… Or is that Bah Humbug? « Musings of a Mild Mannered Man

  5. free penny press says:

    I’m the cool one even when stuff goes to hell in a hand basket.. I wish i was more high strung because I keep that stress inside which we all know is a no-no..

    Like

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    I really enjoy your posts. And I’m very high-strung–in fact, I’m sort of having a melt down as I write this–oh well.

    Like

  7. You are definitely more calm than I am, Ruth, but I do tend to take charge during an emergency. As for holidays, I used to be kind of over the top at holidays (especially Christmas), but I find as I get older, I prefer staying home and enjoying a quiet day. We will go to my nephew’s home for a big family get-together, but that will be a week before Christmas. I expect we will see my mother on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day for a bit, but it will be quiet and pleasant.

    Like

  8. Judy says:

    I liked the post. Years ago (showing my age), Christmas started after Thanksgiving. Now it starts so early we’re still wearing shorts and lasts so long it is like a political campaign. I keep it simple, knowing no family is like the Waltons, and only buying presents the grandkids have told me they want. They’re happy and I’m happy. Nothing is perfect, including the holidays, so I keep my expectations realistic, sit back, and enjoy the season.

    Like

  9. I knew I really liked you! I’m surprisingly cool, too. I worked for many years in psychiatric facilities and had to deal with a fair amount of drama, trauma and generally crazy behavior. Maybe I just learned to take things in stride from those years?
    Nah, I was always like this. Lol!

    Like

  10. wow, reading your post was like reading about myself. i too am calm during a crisis, though i have never understood why some people made a big deal out of birthdays. as for christmas, i am more frustrated that it’s become so commercial, and the true reason for the holidays is placed on the back burner.
    i really enjoyed your post!
    z

    Like

What do you think?

