Share Your World Week #2

share your world

Darn it!  I was gonna hop on board this Share Your World Week and try to do it every week!  Well, it’s week #2 and I am already a week behind.

If you want to join in, please do! It’s fun and easy and if you can’t think of anything to blog about….  this place will get you going.   Go to the link here to see what it’s all about. ( I did not create this fun place…. Cee did!)  She is WAY more creative than I am…. “Way….”

http://www.ceephotography.com/2013/01/07/share-your-world-2013-week-2/

OK Here are the questions and my answers...

What is your favorite color?

got red

Red has been my favorite color for a long, long time…. because I think when I wear red it flatters me.  Of course it doesn’t hurt that I taught 35 years in the same school system where the colors were…. Red and White!   Red is bold and bright and I am not;  I think it makes up for my personality deficiencies!

Favorite thing to photograph? Write? Or Cook?

IMG_4832

Our Grandma thinks we’re cute!

I love to photograph my grandchildren because they are all so darn cute!

Followed closely by nature…. if I ever get the right lens for my new camera, I may share photos more.  (It is the lens’s fault!  Not mine!)  As far as writing goes, I am rather new at being a “writer” so this blog is where I get most of my enjoyment.  I do like to write letters,too.   Not emails, but real live letters that require postage and envelopes and addresses!  I seem to overuse exclamation points!  And those three little dots…

As for cooking… my favorites are macaroni and cheese – the real kind, soups, and I am a sucker for  casseroles….. I mean, if you can serve a complete meal in one dish… why not?

casserold

Name two of your best personality traits.

Patience is the trait that probably best describes me.  It’s a good thing since I spent many years in the classroom and needed this trait like there was no tomorrow!  Another trait that I hope others appreciate is my constant sense of humor.  I can find humor in just about anything.  The biggest problem with this is my sarcastic nature which sometimes gets tangled up with the humor.  I have to be very careful.

What word or words are fun for you to say?  And yes Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious counts a a fun word!

Favorite words seem to come and go with me.  I follow the trends, much to my family and friends dismay.  I tend to OVERUSE words sometimes which evidently annoys others….  Always liked::

groovy, awesome, really?, seriously? whatever…. TMI   Evidently I say “gosh darn it”  a lot, because my grandchildren went home after spending a weekend with me and started using that phrase.  I was promptly set straight on that phrase (although I think its one of those habits that will not disappear)  When the movie and SNL skit…. Wayne’s World was popular… I overused some of their phrases  AND if you remember Ed Grimley from SNL….. let’s just say  I said   “I must say”  way too many times.

ed grimley

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Share Your World Week #2

  1. Pingback: Share Your World Week #2 « Chronicles of a Homosexual Hobbit

  2. Wonderful post, Ruth!! I loved every bit of it, and I’m smiling like crazy. … I like the three dots, too. .. Your grandkids are adorable, I don’ t have a good recipe for homemade mac and cheese, your humor shines through, and Ed Grimley is a hoot! … So glad I’m taking the time to catch up with you tonight. 🙂

    Like

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I way over use the word awesome!! I just love that word. Great answers. Thanks so much for participating!

    Like

  4. Loved the answers…loved the photos…I do believe we think a lot a like…good luck on keeping up with the challenge…I’ll be viewing…

    Like

  5. Your grandchildren are beautiful! Just precious.
    Who doesn’t love macaroni and cheese? Delicious!
    Patience is a wonderful virtue – one that I wish more people had.
    Finally, I tend to over use catch phrases and new trendy words, too. I remember when my own mother would do that and I’d roll my eyes. Now I’m the one on the receiving end of the eye roll!
    Funny how we come full circle. 🙂
    Great post, Ruth!

    Like

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    Ruth, this is Fabuloso!!! I love my homemade mac and cheese too! I make a big pan so I can eat half, freeze half. Your grandkids are adorable–and I’ll bet they’re “way fun”! I’m so glad you’ve joined SYW–I look forward to it every week (it’s a break from trying to be a “serious poet”–ha ha ha!). God bless you big–love, sis Caddo

    Like

    • It took awhile for me to convert everyone to “homemade mac and cheese”. When my kids were little all I had time for was the blue and yellow box….. finally convinced them, though. I bet your mac and cheese is the BEST! We should do a blog on favorite mac and cheese recipes! I could eat it every day!

      Like

  7. marymtf says:

    I like to write letters too but there are no more people to write to any more.

    Like

    • That is so true…. I still have 2 friends and an elderly aunt who I write letters to. My aunt can no longer reply, but she loves reading them and my other friends are like you and I… we hate to see letter writing die a slow death! I also have a penpal abroad… we have purposely avoided emailing except for photos…. to keep the penpal fun alive!

      Like

  8. lucewriter says:

    Ruth, I am amazed at how many similarities we have–the patience, the red (for me it’s variations on the color red) and how it doesn’t seem to fit haha, the types of foods to cook, wow. And your grandkids are adorable!!
    Luanne

    Like

  9. Like this Share Your World idea…and your favourite words are almost the same as mine, except I probably swear more. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

