WordPress what are you doin’ to me?????

frustrated

I can’t find my dashboard!!!!!!!!

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to WordPress what are you doin’ to me?????

  1. Oh, I am on this complaint train big time. Half of my buttons don’t work anymore, load times are longer, and the reader is terrible! Love the graphic of the woman chomping on the laptop!

    Like

  2. I hate the fact that the ‘New Post’ option takes me to the ‘Quick Post’ screen (I write LONG posts, so offering me a tiny five line box [and NOT allowing me to see my previously used tags or categories] is ridiculous; I suspect this is designed for ‘mobile’ app users). Also, the GIANT pictures under ‘Reader’ (Blogs I follow’) and ‘Freshly Pressed’ is just wasted screen space (I liked the ‘thumbnail’ approach to viewing Freshly Pressed posts and found a lot of great writers there … now I can’t be bothered scrolling down for DAYS to find something ‘perhaps’ worth reading). They’ve done something like this before and then changed it back, so let’s hope this, too, shall pass. You can add your comments to the forum someone set up (under Support, Forum) this morning … I strongly suggest you do – the more people who complain, the more quickly they ‘might’ put things back to rights. I used to teach visual design for web and multimedia – with this ‘improvement’ they’ve broken almost every single rule of user-centred design (my guess is someone with NO IDEA about how things should work was put in charge. YIKES! Rule #1 of customer service: Don’t piss off the customer!

    Like

  3. ♫strangers in the night
    exchanging blogs
    wondering in the night
    what were the chances
    of ever finding the dashboard aga—–in!!!! ♫

    Like

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh Ruth, sign me up for the “Whiners”/shouters membership…it is TOO LATE IN THE DAY FOR ME TO FIGURE OUT WHERE “READER” PUT THE DANG BLOGS I NEED TO READ!!! There, I feel better… God bless y’all (said in super syrupy voice, as I try to adjust my attitude)!

    Like

  5. I don’t like the new design one bit. It confuses me in my blog reader that the photos are on top of the title. I keep thinking the photos are connected with the previous title. Websites (*cough*Facebook*cough*) should stop fixing things that aren’t broken!

    Like

    • I agree…. having trouble finding the author of the blog as well…. the print is too damned small for me! And I do get confused on which picture goes with which blog…. WordPress are you listening?

      Like

      • I don’t think they are — or if they are listening, they don’t care. Have you noticed that whenever a site switches to a new format and everyone complains, the site just ignores them until the complains die down and people get use to the new format whether they like it or not? It’s a thing. And we can’t really complain, considering we don’t pay them anything for their service. Well, I don’t, anyway. People who buy the deluxe blog package thing should probably get a say.

        Like

  6. free penny press says:

    WP was doing something odd earlier but mine is ok ..for now..

    Like

  7. now …you have me wondering???

    Like

  8. I do believe all of us “whiners” are over…. 40 (ahem)

    Like

  9. Judy says:

    Just in case you haven’t found it – go to your Stats page and on the top right side should be the name of your blog and right next to it is a very small ‘w’ in a circle. If you click on that little ‘w’ it takes you to the Dashboard. It would have been easier if they had at least send out a blast with their Daily Post telling about the change.

    Like

  10. sterlingsop says:

    ARGH!!!!!!!!! I feel your pain! Why do they have to mess about with things??? It was PERFECTLY fine earlier on, why change it AGAIN???????!!!!1

    Like

  11. Judy says:

    I’m laughing here because when I complained to my daughter and granddaughter my daughter said ‘well it is their site,’ and my granddaughter said ‘maybe people should have to give their age and then they’d make changes according to age. In my situation, I think it is that just when I get it all figured out they update something and then I’m back working on figuring it out again. But, I guess I’m not alone.

    Like

  12. Coming East says:

    Uh, oh. I haven’t checked lately. Hope mine didn’t disappear, too!

    Like

  13. Me too! Glad I’m not alone.

    Like

  14. They are doing weird things again–I am having the same trouble

    Like

What do you think?

