Share Your World 2013 Week 3

Share Your World – 2013 Week 3

Click on the link above to find Cee, who originated this blog!

share-your-world2

 

Is your hair short (total neck and ear showing), medium (covering ears and neck), long (below shoulders) or extra long (at least halfway down your back)?

My hair has been short for a long time.   It’s very fine and when it gets long, it just hangs there with no body… so short suits me best.

What is your favorite color of hair?  You can name your hair color or a color that you just like.

I identify hair color with my friends and I have friends with all colors of hair and some of them are ever-changing!   I love blonde hair because my best friend from childhood always had the prettiest blond hair.  I was always a bit envious.  My youngest daughter shares my brown color but recently went REALLY blonde, like platinum…. it took a little getting used to, but I love it now!    Do blondes have more fun?

I love dark brown almost black hair, too because my mom had this color.   She was one of the lucky people who did not go gray until she was  in her  70’s so I associate black hair with her.   I have several super friends who are redheads.   College buddies, cousins, grandmother and great aunt,  daughters of good friends…. I love little kids with red hair and freckles.   There are so many beautiful shade of red!

My hair is brown.  Everyone always commented how my eyes and hair were the exact same color.  Well, that used to be true… time changes things!  My husband’s hair is also brown (well it would be gray if he would leave it alone!)  It also used to be VERY curly.  He hated it but I loved it.  I used to have visions of curly-headed babies…. and you know what?  All three of my children had straight-as-a-stick hair!  Like mine.  I was really disappointed that none of my children had natural curls.

Which bad habits, if any, drive you crazy?

The habit that I really hate it smoking.   My husband is a smoker and I have pleaded with him to quit for so long.  I have never liked the smell that accompanies smoking.  It gets into everything…. and the health consequences are serious…..

What are some of your favorite type of proteins to eat? (meat, eggs, soy, cheese, nuts)

Growing up on a farm in the 50’s and 60’s meant you ate a lot of meat!  I still love meat of every kind.  My favorite uncle was a butcher and had his own little business.  He grew his own livestock and butchered for others.  It was awesome.  He introduced me to some weird meats as well.  I guess I would call them old-fashioned meat – head cheese, pawn hoss, puddin were just a few that I remember.

As always a song pops into my head!  This is for you Cee!

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World 2013 Week 3

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Such great answers to this week’s challenge. Love the song too!!!

    Like

  2. sterlingsop says:

    I have got really curly hair and dreamed of kids with curls too, but like you, my kids have got stick straight hair and not at all like mine! I have had battles all my life with my hair and I prefer to keep it short only to keep the curls in check. Although, when it gets a little longer I usually straighten it (as it is in my avatar photo) which is more comfortable but with the climate we have here in the UK it rarely stays straight when I go outside! I envy my daughter her long, straight, blonde hair and she envies me my dark, short, curly locks.

    Like

  3. rutheh says:

    Good morning, Thanks for the likes on my blog. I am resubscribing to your blog as I have not been receiving your posts. I am wondering if wordrpress changed something in the new year.

    Like

    • I have had to go searching for bloggers I used to follow and now cannot find. I also have bloggers showing up in my Reader that I did not subscribe to! Not necessarily a bad, thing. There have been some really good ones but… hey.. who is in control here?

      Like

  4. I didn’t remember that it was the Cowsills who sang this song. 🙂 Thanks for the memory. Oh, the things you probably eat! My husband brought home some Scrapple not too long ago, and a few days later some Souse from the meat market. He sort of gags me at times. … I was a somewhat dark, dishwater blonde. In my twenties, I chose to go very blonde, and have been a blonde until recently. I’m leaning toward more red shades now. My hair is still past my shoulders, and I wear bangs – not unlike Susan Hunter. 😉

    Like

  5. A gripping life says:

    I still love that song after all these years! My hair is chocolate brown with the texture of feathers, in fact, I wonder if it is hair sometimes! I hate cigarette smoke, too, but I REALLY hate when people use JC as a swear word. I don’t know, it bothers me, big time.
    I’m an egg girl. I could probably eat eggs for every meal. (poached, fried, scrambled, omlettes, etc.) Love ’em!

    Like

What do you think?

