Share Your World Week 5

Here I go again!  Thank you Cee for motivating me… I need this weekly post more than you need me… that is for sure!!!!!

Are you a morning or night person?

Undoubtedly I am a morning person.   Even now that I have been retired over a year, my body clock works on the same schedule as ever.   It started long ago.  I was a farm girl from the start.  Farm girls don’t sleep in.  It’s  a rule.  Really… look it up!        There were animals to feed and work to be done while the sun was out…. you know.   “Make Hay While The Sun Shines”.

Then, of course, there was school.   I started in first grade (1956) and retired from school in 2011.   That is a lot of years in school and a lot of years up and waiting for the bus, for my 8 o’clock class, for my students to arrive.   You get the picture.    There is also this matter of the husband.   Who is still a farmer.  Who will not retire, ever.   Our His alarm goes off at 5:30 AM so we can lie in bed and listen to the weather and the farm markets.   Fascinating stuff!  Luckily he doesn’t eat breakfast until later when he’s on the run so I am spared cooking.  Heck I never had time to cook breakfast for myself or 3 kids either….. cereal or toaster items.  And lots of coffee.

I do my best work in the mornings.   If I should happen to sleep in until say…. 7:00 AM or so… my day is truly ruined and I just wander aimlessly…

What is your preferred hot drink: coffee, tea, water or other?

Coffee with a splash of french vanilla creamer for the past 44 years (not the french vanilla… that’s a more recent development)

What was your favorite toy as a child  . . .  and now?

I had a metal doll house.  It had tiny plastic furniture but no people.  So I would take those tiniest pieces of Lincoln Logs…. and I would pretend they were the people.  I spent hours playing with that.

doll house

If you had a choice which would be your preference salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, hot tub, ski resort or desert?

Salt water beach.   I could spend days on the beach just lounging, reading, watching the ocean, watching the people, splashing around a bit,  looking for shells (early in the morning, of course)…. my dream vacation.

This information from Cee:

I hope I am taking it easy on you this week.  At least they were fairly easy and fun for me.   I hope you enjoy this week’s questions.    You can think hard about them and be extremely serious or you can have fun and dream and just let loose, or you can let your alter ego answer.   Have FUN no matter what you do!!!  Have a fabulous week everyone!!

Even though I oftentimes will add photos to my answers, it is not a requirement to participate in Share your World.

NOTE:  Click link to easily find Other Share Your World Week blog entries.

I will be putting out four different questions each week for you to answer.  There are two ways which you can participate.

  1. Create a  Share Your World  post.  Then post the link to your blog in my comment box or leave your answers in the comments box of my blog.
  2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Share Your World” tag.
  3. Remember to Follow My Blog to get your weekly reminders.

I usually will respond to your entry on your blog, rather than on my page.

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World Week 5

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    It was fun reading about your morning answers and about living on a farm. I simply adored it. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  2. Great answers. Other than the doll house we’re practically twins! Haha!

    Like

  3. 1. Like you, I had 50+ years of early mornings (going to school, then working at a College), but I was NEVER a ‘morning person’ (I preferred the 10 years when my boys were little and I taught night school). Now that I can, I sleep in until at least 8:00 every day (my husband still teaches those damnable 8:00 o’clock classes, so he’s up at 4:30 or 5:00 during the week; he ‘sleeps in’ until 7:00 on weekends!) The older I get, though, the earlier I crawl under the covers; I used to be able to stay awake until 11:00 or 11:30; now its pretty much lights out at 10:00.
    2. Tea with milk and a little sugar is my favourite drink, although I’ll splurge on a caramel latte if I go to a fancy coffee shop (with whipped cream and extra caramel sauce!)
    3. I still have my old wooden dollhouse (my mother bought it in a second hand store). Like you, I had plastic furniture but no people (there were two plastic ‘babies’ but no adults … hmm, I don’t recall how I got past that). I refinished it in the 90s and found that Playmobile people (and furniture) fit inside perfectly. I have it ‘on display’ in my living room. Honestly though, Barbie was my best friend when I was young (I love my Tiny Tears baby doll, too). I still have all my original dolls (and quite a collection of Barbies to boot) and I love ‘dusting’ them every couple of months because it gives me an excuse to ‘play’ with them just a little bit. Just holding them takes me back 50 years!
    4. I live 10 minutes from a fresh water lake and frequent the beach as often as I can in the summer; I love salt water beaches, too, but can’t afford to get to them!

    Margo

    Like

    • I love that you still have your dolls… I wish I did, but then again, I have enough stuff around here to last me forever. Ditto on the salt water beaches. those trips are few and far between. My husband did dig us a farm pond years ago for swimming only so I “pretend” I am at the beach even though I am just out my back door! Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  4. Caddo Veil says:

    Hi Ruth! It was all those early school mornings, and work mornings, that made me rebel! God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    Like

What do you think?

