Seven Sentence Story

caddo7sentencestory

 

 

 

Shoppers, who at first had formed an orderly line, suddenly surged forward like the gush of a fire hydrant to extinguish a blaze.

I squeezed tightly but felt the small hand  slip away.

My fearful shouting could not be heard.

With pounding heart beating in my head, I pushed and shoved, searching.

Images filled my head and none of them were good.

Panic mode engaged.

Then I heard, “Grandma, over here!”

 

 

http://caddoveil.com/2013/03/11/introducing-caddos-seven-

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Kids and Grandkids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Seven Sentence Story

  1. LB says:

    Excellently written! You’ve probably heard about (or read) Hemmingway’s 6 word story. This link has a similar theme.
    http://www.npr.org/2013/03/13/173816975/six-words-ask-who-i-am-not-what

    Like

  2. cshowers says:

    Oh my that was too terrifying! My heart was totally pounding as I read and imagined my grandchildren being lost. Praise God you gave us a happy ending, otherwise I might not have been able to sleep tonight!

    Many blessings,
    Cheryl

    Like

  3. Brilliant! I was feeling it. This was a perfectly tied up little story. Sometimes big things do come in small packages. Well done!

    Like

  4. It is amazing how a few well crafted words can change the reader’s emotions in no time!

    Like

  5. marymtf says:

    You managed a beginning, a middle and an end in seven sentences, well done, Ruth. I agree with everyone else here about relating to it. 🙂

    Like

  6. That little bit had my heart beating faster. Very effective.

    Like

  7. Cee Neuner says:

    Excellent story…..That was really good. I’m still thinking on what I should write for Caddo’s challenge.

    Like

  8. Caddo Veil says:

    Excellent, excellent, Ruth!! Thanks so much for joining me–and thanks also, for the link to the 7 Sentence Blog. At first I was nervous, fearing I’d “stolen” an idea–but they have a whole different deal goin’ on–I just have a monthly story challenge, so I’m not likely to be hauled off to blog jail (yet). God bless you BIG–love, sis Caddo

    Like

  9. I “lost” my three year old once when he let go of my hand and ‘disappeared’ under a display table (he thought it would be fun to play ‘hide and seek’). It was the worst 15 seconds of my life!

    Like

  10. I have woken up in the middle of the night having that nightmare. So, so glad it turned out with a happy ending.

    Like

  11. I bet that main character won’t go to a white sale at Higbee’s again! 🙂

    Like

  12. Maxi says:

    That was scary, so glad it turned out okay.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  13. grandmalin says:

    Oh God, my worst nightmare. Thank you for the happy ending. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

