A Word A Week Challenge: Old

The Beach Boys said it well.

Oh wouldn’t it be nice if we were older,

And we didn’t have to wait so long…..

When I was 5 years old, I couldn’t wait to get older.  My brother was 5 years older than me and he got to do all the fun stuff.

“Mom  can I ride my bike down the lane to Jimmy’s house?”

The answer would always be, “When you are a little older.”

I must have heard that answer a thousand times to a thousand different questions. I wanted to be older so I could:

go to school, ride my bike out of the neighborhood, have a friend spend the night, stay home by myself, wear lipstick, shave my legs, go on a date, make my own decisions, get a job,  get married.  Always wishing for something that is just out of reach.   Old and older were desirable.  That’s when all the fun began.

Now that I am older, I want to be young again.  Sometimes.  Oh, I wouldn’t want to go through everything again, but younger seems a bit more desirable.  Especially when everyday chores and events become physically harder.  Especially when mental tasks become harder as well.

I remember well, wanting to be older.  I got my wish.

http://youtu.be/QjFQ4JQqK_0

Join A Word A Week Challenge…. what are you thoughts on old?  Here is the link….

http://suellewellyn2011.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/a-word-a-week-challenge-old/

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Word A Week Challenge: Old

  1. LB says:

    My thought isn’t really about “old” but more about wishing for something other than where we are … I wish my pregnancy was over, I wish my child could walk, I can’t wait until they talk … and on and on. I also hear my patients say that family is always wishing away the moments … when will you get engaged; when will you get married; when will you have kids.
    Somehow we need to be happy where we are.

    Like

  2. I don’t know that I wish i could be younger – I just know that I wish that I could get off the ground easier, get out of bed easier, and not walk down the stairs like it was a controlled fall.

    Like

  3. Ruth, I don’t remember wishing to be older. Probably because my older sister was pretty cool in including me in her life, and my best friend neighbor was two years older than me, and she hauled me around everywhere with her.

    But I’m telling you, I certainly didn’t wish for these aches and pains now!! 😉

    Like

  4. lucewriter says:

    hahaha, so true (at the end). Great post!

    Like

  5. I remember sitting in high school wishing to move forward – quickly. I like the maturity and wisdom that comes with being older but certainly wish all the various ailments would take a flying leap so I could do physical work for a full day like I use to. 🙂

    Like

  6. I can so relate to this post! What were we thinking wanting to be older??? I’d do anything to turn the clock back, even just twenty years! Haha! And for the record, that was probably my favorite Beach Boys song. Just sayin’… 🙂

    Like

  7. Well written, We miss the moments in life to rush forward to a moment that might happen.

    Like

What do you think?

