Nostalgia….

Looks like I’m on to something.  My blog has been, for the most part, about nostalgia; things remembered.  If you are a loyal follower of mine (yes all 5 of you)  it seems that reading my blog should be making you feel better.

A recent article from The New York Times explains how Dr. Constantine Sedikides researched the subject of nostalgia and found that having nostalgic thoughts “makes me feel good about myself and relationships” and gives him the strength to move forward.   He contends that living in the past is not a bad thing.   (Thank goodness… there is hope for me!)    People who have pleasant memories from the past are more optimistic and face the future in a positive way.    Even bittersweet memories from the past can make you stronger and better able to handle all the emotions that Life provides for us.

Dr. Sedikides and his research team have worked on this topic for a decade,  and  have developed a questionnaire called the Southampton Nostalgia Scale.  There is a link within the article if you want to download the questionnaire.

Memories are the glue that can hold us all together.  I think that’s why it is so satisfying for me to write about my past.

You can read the entire article about nostalgia here:

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/09/science/what-is-nostalgia-good-for-quite-a-bit-research-shows.html?src=me&ref=general

 
About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Nostalgia….

  1. I enjoy your trips down memory lane. Let’s face it, in this world of Facebook, Twitter and the other social media programs, it is comforting to think about a simpler time spent with ‘real’ family and ‘real’ friends.

    Like

  2. Memories are fantastic because they are normally limited to happier times than what you are experiencing right this second. You can bring up bad ones at times, but for the most part I tend to whitewash the good ones into GREAT ones. And it’s wonderful.

    Like

  3. Luanne says:

    Ruth, I know I can always count on you for nostalgia, which is one of my favorite topics (and time uses haha).

    Like

  4. LB says:

    My friends call me the “documentress” because I document our trips by journal and photograph. Memories comfort us, strengthen us, and let us see growth They also remind us of simpler (not necessarily easier) times.
    By the way, I have always had such a crush on Dean Martin! Thanks for the treat 🙂

    Like

  5. Karen says:

    I must agree that many of my memories bring me warmth. And the ones that don’t, keep me from repeating anything to regret later or help me avoid situations that are not healthy for my life and those around me. Having those deeply warm and supportive memories also encourages me to know I am a part of making good memories for others such as my grandchildren, family and friends (maybe even strangers!). I am now keenly aware that if I work out of gentle and kind spirit and can muster up a genuine smile and as a bonus provide a good ear for listening, I may be a part of someone else’s collection to remember something that will bring them warmth and encouragement down the path of life. I am feeling very thankful for those special people in my life that provided that for me.

    Like

  6. That’s me!… and I do think I cope…Will read the article…might be a good program for my TOPS group…

    Like

  7. Enjoy your travels down memory lane…it’s amazing the things you start remembering when you start writing them down. Each memory triggers another and another….

    Like

  8. Part of my nostalgia is the singers and songs of “back then”–Dean Martin, Perry Como…. I hope I’m among the 5–feeling the need to be part of some exclusive group today! God bless you, Ruth.

    Like

  9. Maxi says:

    Living in the past is not a bad thing. Whew! You made my day ’cause I tend to be what I call a back-traveler. It’s fun to take a peek now and again when all that fun stuff was goin’ on.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  10. cobbies69 says:

    Dean martin and nostalgia are perfect partners…thank you for stopping by again on mine again.. love this.. 😉

    Like

  11. I truly believe the only way we can move forward with our lives is by looking back once in a while to see how far we’ve come. Like you, I’ve found that by blogging about ‘times gone by’, I have a far better grasp on this phase of my life.

    Margo

    Like

  12. Oh good, cause I’m nostalgic quite often!
    Think I’ll check out the questionnaire on the link.

    Like

  13. riverman1953 says:

    I love your look into the past. It brings back happy times. I don’t have the internet access I once had therefore, I don’t blog a lot but I still travel down memory lane often. At the request of friends I am currently doing a story based on my earliest memories up to current time. Wish me luck!!!

    Like

What do you think?

