Lunch With Ladybugs and Cookies

Most days I eat lunch alone.   I don’t mind.   All those many years I was working, lunch was pretty haphazard.  A Lean Cuisine zapped in a microwave and gulped down in 3 bites, then a quick restroom break, and Bam!  the students returned and lunch was over.  Occasionally our always-quick-lunch was shared with nearby colleagues and we would laugh about funny things the students said or did.  Or sometimes brainstorm ideas about how to teach and help students who were having trouble.  I miss that camaraderie, but lunch alone is still good.

Sometimes I eat my lunch in front of the computer catching up or blogs or emails or Pinterest.    Sometimes I eat in front of the TV and watch a show I have recorded.

Today I took the leftover half of my $5 footlong and headed out to the patio.   The air was cool but the sun was warm and it was a day to enjoy the out-of-doors.  I wasn’t completely alone.   Several ladybugs were exploring the picnic table.  Butterflies, bees, and moths fluttered around my lavender bushes, and a flock of geese heading south honked as they went past.

Image

image from hintjewelry.blogspot.com

The picture above is NOT the cookies I am about to describe.

I found this easy cookie recipe on Pinterest.  It’s perfect for fall and so easy.  I tweaked it a bit the second time I made a batch and they were even better.

3 ingredient cookies (originally it was 2 ingredients)

1 box of spice cake mix

I 15 oz can of pumpkin

1/2 cup applesauce

Mix in a large bowl until most of the lumps are gone.  Drop by teaspoonful onto a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake for 12-14 minutes at 350 degrees.  Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Cream cheese icing makes a 4th ingredient, but I used the ready-made canned frosting and it was still easy.

The first batch did not include applesauce, but the batter was too thick, so I added a bit of applesauce and it was better the second time around!

I think lunch breaks are important.   Even when you are retired, it’s good to take a few minutes in the middle of the day to relax and enjoy whatever is at hand.

https://retiredruth.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/lunch-with-the-butterflies/

keep-calm-and-take-your-lunch-break

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Lunch With Ladybugs and Cookies

  1. Sun says:

    this is a lovely way to remind us on the importance of taking a few minutes to feed ourselves. sometimes when we get so busy, it is real easy to forget. thanks, Ruth. ☺

    Like

  2. cyclingrandma says:

    I eat lunch a lot also and usually read the paper and do the crossword puzzle or look at recipes. Nice post!

    Like

  3. LB says:

    Your description of lunch with the ladybugs, butterflies, bees, moths, and geese, with the view of the lavender sounds downright lovely! Just a different kind of camaraderie 🙂

    Like

  4. Grace says:

    I enjoyed reading this post and was reminded of my days of rushed lunches, laughs with colleagues, and a returning class of students! Most days now, I too, eat lunch alone. Thank you sharing the pumpkin cookie recipe and I will be sure to try it!
    Sincerely,
    Lynne (Grace)

    Like

  5. same kind of lunch for me for 30 years…wasn’t it fun???
    now, TV or computer has me for their companion…
    recipe sounds great and simple…love that!…

    Like

  6. Caddo says:

    Boy those sound yummy!! I love the spice cake mix–it was always my request for my b’day cake. And now I’m leaving the keyboard for my lunch break–stew, a recipe I got from my English friend, in front of the TV–one of my fave movies is on, “The Birdcage”! God bless you BIG, Ruth–love, sis Caddo

    Like

    • mmmmmmmmmmm love stew and The Birdcage!

      Like

      • Caddo says:

        This “stew” is English and vegetarian, not like the stew I was raised on (beef chunks, potatoes, veggies, etc)–but I was amazed how good and hearty it was, and easy to make. If you’d like the recipe, I’ll be happy to share it. You like The Birdcage too?? I cackle with laughter, no matter how many times I’ve seen it–one of those rare movies that handles controversial topics in hilariously good taste.

        Like

        • Would love the recipe for your vegetarian stew. At your convenience, of course!
          Yes, The Birdcage is hilarious. Glad you reminded me of it, I have not seen it for a long time. Sounds like a great pasttime for a rainy day.

          Like

        • Would love the recipe for your vegetarian stew. At your convenience, of course!
          Yes, The Birdcage is hilarious. Glad you reminded me of it, I have not seen it for a long time. Sounds like a great pasttime for a rainy day.

          Like

        • Would love the recipe for your vegetarian stew. At your convenience, of course!
          Yes, The Birdcage is hilarious. Glad you reminded me of it, I have not seen it for a long time. Sounds like a great pasttime for a rainy day.

          Like

        • Caddo says:

          It might be easier to email the recipe, unless you’re opposed to that–let me know. Yes, Birdcage is perfect for rainy days, or any day I need a lift–Nathan Lane is just a scream, and the scenes where he’s trying to walk like John Wayne…and dressed up as “Grover’s Corners mom” for the senator’s visit… And Agador-Spartacus and his Guatemalan soup….. the whole movie is a great escape!

          Like

        • email is fine….I thought I could find The Birdcage on Netflix, but it’s not there. May have to rent it.
          Thanks, Caddo!

          Like

        • email is fine….I thought I could find The Birdcage on Netflix, but it’s not there. May have to rent it.
          Thanks, Caddo!

          Like

        • Caddo says:

          Okay, I didn’t see a contact form on your blog–here’s my email address so that you can let me know how to reach you, Ruth: sterlingjael@comcast.net

          I’m thinking I should buy The Birdcage–I don’t own but a few DVD’s, but that one should be on my shelf–like aspirin (or “pirin tablets”, ala Agador).

          Like

  7. I love this recipe and yes, we should all take time for a lunch break

    Like

  8. Delish recipe! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. edebock says:

    I remember those school day lunches! Several years after retiring, I still have to remind myself that I don’t have to gobble down my meal; I can actually take time to enjoy it!

    The cookie recipe sounds delicious. I love anything pumpkin and a recipe that easy just has to be good!

    Like

  10. Maxi says:

    I think any kinda break is a good idea sometime during the day, Ruth. Aaand your recipe sounds delicious.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

What do you think?

