Up in Smoke

Retired Ruth

They were perfect in every way.  So soft from many washings, full coverage including feet, and my favorite color – yellow.  That’s why the disaster that befell my favorite pair of pajamas was so devastating.

One bitterly cold, wintry night, I lay cozy and snuggled in my bed.  I could barely move because I was tucked in all around with sheets, blankets, and a couple of hand-made comforters.  So when I woke up in the middle of the night needing to go to the bathroom, I decided it wasn’t worth the effort.  Our old farmhouse had no furnace; just two coal burning stoves on each end of the house.   Our house was very seldom cozy warm in the winter, and upstairs, where my brother and I slept, there was no heat at all.   I would just wait until morning.  I quickly fell asleep.

“Time to get up!”  shouted…

View original post 252 more words

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Up in Smoke

  1. pastsmith says:

    That photo really brings back memories…and makes me smile! Sorry about your yellow pajamas tho.

    Like

What do you think?

