It tolls for Dolly……Friday Fictioneer

Friday Fictioneer

Tiny orange blossoms sprouted up overnight.  Dolly didn’t  notice at first.  They spread past the bushes, filling in the yard, climbing up the bell pull and strangling the clapper with tough, stringy vines.  Each morning she took a pair of kitchen scissors and cut the vines from the bell, just in case.  Each morning the vines climbed and took over again until one morning they were so thick, she could no longer cut them.

In a panic, she tried using her best paring knife.  Pulling the knife through the vines with all her might, they snapped.

She bled out on the floor.

****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

This is my entry for Friday Fictioneers…. to read other entries or to join the group go to this link

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/02/19/21-february-2014/

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
Image | This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to It tolls for Dolly……Friday Fictioneer

  1. Nan Falkner says:

    Great story – it’s amazing and I think I feel it creeping up my back – Oh No! Good and scary! Nan

    Like

  2. hugmamma says:

    I love wildflowers…normally. I’ll be looking at them more closely from now on. Great story!

    Like

  3. Good ending that feels right for the story – her time had come.
    I enjoyed reading this 🙂

    Like

  4. storydivamg says:

    This reminds me of the trumpeter vines that my grandma and her mother warned me of. They always pulled those particular orange flowers out by the roots when they first appeared. Perhaps they had heard of Dolly’s fate?

    Cheers!
    Marie Gail

    Like

  5. How awful but an intriguing story.

    Like

  6. Good story with great descriptive words. I also had to look up “Triffids”. If I’d heard about them before, I’d forgotten. Sad end for Dolly.

    Like

  7. LB says:

    wow! what an ending!

    Like

  8. Day of the Triffids sprang to mind — wonderful, frantic pacing to this tale, with that abrupt last line ending all.

    Like

  9. Dear Ruth,

    I certainly didn’t see that coming. So the vines were really triffids, right? Clever.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  10. K.Z. says:

    a nightmarish tale. the orange blossoms seemed so lovely and innocent.

    Like

  11. That was a uniue twist… really love the thought of vines and red flowers quenching a life.. eerie really

    Like

  12. atrm61 says:

    Monster flowers and killer vines-ooh!A fantastic ending,loved it:-)

    Like

  13. I cab see this happening..in a nightmare!

    Like

  14. Karen says:

    Reminds me of my husband Bob pruning the ivy from the house. The more he prunes the more it grows. He thinks its out to get him. He eyes it like a competitor every spring, summer and fall. He goes to bed only to see a new vine the next morning waving its shiny new green leaf as if it is laughing in his face. Ruth, I tell him not to take it personally!!!! He’d identify with this short story… Great job friend!

    Like

  15. And I thought those flowers looked beautiful! So much for that idea. I wonder what’s next. I have a feeling no one will ever find Dolly or maybe even her house.

    janet

    Like

  16. Clever story here. Leaves me wondering just how sinister these little orange blossoms are… However ill intentioned they were, great building of tension!

    Like

What do you think?

