Friday Fictioneer

Image

 

“Andy!”

“Andy!  Game over…. come out.  It’s going to be dark soon.  We need to head back to the car.”

Impatience, irritation, and a bit of alarm filled my mind and my voice.

“Andy, please.   This is not fun anymore.”

A rustling sound.   Andy?  The breeze?  Shadows could not hide my growing uneasiness.

“That’s it! I am waiting no longer.  I will meet you back at the car.”

Flashing lights in the vicinity of the car.   I began to run.

“You have the right to remain silent …”

Why are they reading Andy his rights?

Why don’t they see me?

 

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Friday Fictioneer

  1. Sun says:

    a thrilling ending, Ruth! i fear trouble ahead…

    Like

  2. Great build-up of tension to a perfectly chilling end!

    Like

  3. hugmamma says:

    Awesome! Absolutely awesome! A ghostly tale if there ever was one…

    Like

  4. Judah First says:

    WHAT?! Great intrigue! Totally got me with the end. Never saw it comin’. Nice job.

    Like

  5. Wow! Didn’t see the end coming…

    Like

  6. Enigmatic, to say the least. What is the untold story? It’s good.

    Like

  7. Good story with a deadly twist at the end. Well done.

    Like

  8. Dear Ruth,

    Killer twist at the end. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  9. Dee says:

    I really liked this Ruth and am intrigued by what was implied yet left unsaid. Well done
    Dee

    Like

  10. rgayer55 says:

    Great story, Ruth. I’m guess the person calling for Andy was a female. And her name was Miranda, right? Ha!

    Like

  11. Brilliantly filled with wonder and suspense. A great example of setting a scene and telling a story with so few words.

    Like

  12. Horus says:

    Simply wow! amazing story telling too !

    Like

  13. Nan Falkner says:

    WOW! Perfect story and well told! Just terrific and scary! Thanks! Nan 🙂

    Like

  14. Nan Falkner says:

    Creepy and wonderful! I wonder how long it will take her to realize she is dead and he pushed her? Good writing! Well done! Nan 🙂

    Like

  15. I love this for all the story you don’t say but is implied. A nice, creepy story.

    Like

  16. storydivamg says:

    Good bit of suspense for your Friday Fictioneers story this week, Ruth. I enjoyed the read.

    Cheers!
    Marie Gail

    Like

  17. camgal says:

    I was so happy that the meaning was immediately clear to me, poor girl..and kudos to your alliteration 🙂 enjoyed that bit.

    Like

  18. Oooo. This gripped me right from the beginning! The narrator’s terror is so palpable, and I love how you gave just enough description to paint the scene but left certain details open to interpretation! I’ve found these short stories tend to draw out my darker side as well. Though, you have the admit, those trees in the picture are pretty darn creepy. Great work!

    Like

  19. And I thought she was being unreasonable to Andy. Very well-done story!

    Like

  20. Carrie says:

    Definitely not a good outing!

    Like

  21. Ah.. sooner or later she’ll realize what he has done.. let’s hope she has poltergeist powers.

    Like

  22. cobbies69 says:

    Just my type of story.. 😉

    Like

  23. Linda Vernon says:

    OOOOOOO!! Sooo good!

    Like

  24. Deadly good story. 🙂

    janet

    Like

  25. LB says:

    What a story! In so few words, you pull us all in!

    Like

  26. Sandra says:

    Excellent! Just my kind of story.

    Like

  27. Carolyn Page says:

    A lovely twist; most unexpected..! 😉
    Well done… It was a good read.

    Like

  28. Jan Brown says:

    Oh, dear. I fear she won’t be seeing Andy anytime soon…at least not in this world.

    Like

  29. This story steers me down two outcome paths; one is scary, dark, fatal. Shivers!

    Like

What do you think?

