Miles and miles Friday Fictioneer

friday fictioneer


My arms could barely lift the styrofoam cup of hot coffee to my lips.

“Thanks.  This is just what I needed,”  I said to the stranger who just happened to come past on his bicycle with a silver thermos.  “So kind of you to share with me.”

“I just wish I hadn’t finished off the last donut,” he smiled. “How long have you been out here?”

“Um, I’m not really sure… several days, I think.”

He looked surprised.

I remembered seeing pictures of The Great Wall of China.

I wonder if anyone ever had tried to paint it.




This is my  entry to Friday Fictioneers, hosted weekly by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.    Visit her site to read what others have to say about this picture.


10 thoughts on “Miles and miles Friday Fictioneer

  1. Dear Ruth,

    Perhaps she should’ve played Tom Sawyer and suckered some kids to paint it for her. ;) You captured her fatigue and the dialogue was strong but I was a bit confused until I read the comments for clues.



  2. Ruth, Good story. At first I thought that it was an artist painting the scene and then I realized that it was someone actually applying paint “to” the fence. I’ve read stories this week about scenery and I guess that put the first idea into my mind. Just the right touch of humor. Well done. :) —Susan

  3. This seems very realistic, and then the last too lines were suddenly very surreal. I quite liked that, but was also a bit confused where these thoughts of the narrator came from.

What do you think?

