Friday Fictioneer: The Letter

Friday Fictioneers… A 100 word story with a beginning, middle, and end that follows a weekly photo prompt.  Read on…..

 

photo by Jan Wayne Fields

photo by Jan Wayne Fields

Dearest Claudie, 

     As your dearest and oldest friend, I write this letter with love.  It distresses me to tell you what I am about to say, but I feel it is my responsibility to let you know what is going on.  Please know that I will always love you and treasure your friendship.  Your husband, Tomas, is seeing another woman.  I know this is true because I have seen it with my own eyes.  Please call me.

Love, Tess

Sealing the envelope she turns, “That should do it. Let’s drop it in the post.”

“Yes, my love.”  replies Tomas. 

**************************************************************************************************************************

Enjoy more stories from the Friday Fictioneers here:  

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

 

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Friday Fictioneer: The Letter

  1. Grace says:

    Oh my~ that’s a “perfect” scenario. Well written.

    Like

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Jeepers Creepers – this really could happen to just about anyone – there are faithful men – but to have a good friend write a letter to you and she’s the one who is committing adultery. Russell is right, she will get a similar letter some day. Nan 🙂

    Like

  3. Ruth, Claudie probably had a feeling something was wrong. She just didn’t know it was her friend. Tess and Tomas deserve each other. I agree that Tomas is a cheater, and it probably won’t be long until he cheats on Tess also. It couldn’t happen to a more deserving person. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

  4. Oh, I don’t like her one bit!

    Like

  5. LB says:

    Once a cheater …
    Nice take on the photo!

    Like

  6. Somehow I knew Tess was the culprit!!! Well done.

    Like

  7. mscwhite says:

    Clever twist!

    Like

  8. Dear Ruth,

    My favorite stories this week have been the letters. Yours is no exception. I feel for Claudie. Some friend. Nicely done.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  9. Sandra says:

    That’s what friends are for, I guess… 😦 Nice take on the prompt.

    Like

  10. rgayer55 says:

    Tess handles business in a very matter of fact fashion, doesn’t she. If Tomas cheated on Claudie it’s only a matter of time until we wanders again. Then Tess will be the one getting a letter.

    Like

  11. seanfallon01 says:

    Gasp! Scandalous! Great story

    Like

  12. Maxi says:

    My late husband and I were close friends with a couple. One Sunday morning after church we were at breakfast and saw the husband with another woman.

    We were upset but never said anything. It’s a very hard situation.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dee says:

    Some friend!!

    I’m liking this as it is so very well written, but it is a bit too close to home for comfort.

    Something similar happened to me years ago – not a letter but a phone call, the effect was still the same.

    Best wishes

    Dee

    Like

  14. storydivamg says:

    That’s one way to break the news. Do you think Claudie will be invited to the wedding after her divorce is final? (Guess I’m getting a bit ahead of the story, eh?)

    Cheers!
    MG

    Like

What do you think?

