Lost in Madison Woods

I stumble.  I fall.  Gnats and flies and mosquitoes buzz around my head.  My arms and legs resemble a pepperoni pizza.   I would give anything for a pepperoni pizza at this point.

Or just a glass of water.  I squint toward the distant light but my eyes are almost swollen shut.

Got to be near the end.  Almost there.  Just a little further.  Someone would be looking for me, right?  Did I tell anyone where I was going?

One step at a time.

There in front of me is the chrysalis… the same one I saw three days ago.

 

 

friday fictioneer 8 29 14

photo credit to Madison Woods

 

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

My entry for Friday Fictioneers.  One hundred words.   A photo prompt.

Link here to read what others had to say this week.

 

Thanks Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, our weekly hostess!

 

 

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Lost in Madison Woods

  1. Oh, man! Going in circles. And the title is “picture” perfect.

    Like

  2. Ruth, I loved the title. That would be a sickening feeling if you found you’d been going around in circles. I heard that’s happened to a lot of people. We should probably carry a compass if we go into the woods. I, of course, don’t intend to go into the woods. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

  3. margirene says:

    A clever idea well told. I enjoyed it. Marg

    Like

  4. Me, too. We have to live to tell the story!

    Like

  5. Oh dear. That’s really lost. Beautifully described.

    Like

  6. LB says:

    Chilling … made me say “oh gosh” out loud, to an empty room

    Like

  7. Dear Ruth,

    Your story was worth reading for the title alone. good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  8. Aaaah, bone-chilling!! Good interpretation, Ruth!

    Like

  9. Nan Falkner says:

    Wow – going around in circles – scary! Good story. Thanks, Nan 🙂

    Like

  10. hafong says:

    I like the title. Very clever and nicely written. I just came home from the woods. Didn’t get lost, though. Whew! 🙂

    Lily

    Like

What do you think?

