Changes

still-life-with-doug ff

Photo Credit Douglas M MacIlroy

 

Closing time.  

Martha thought this was the saddest time of the year.  It was the end of early morning walks on the beach, searching for shells and sea glass.  It was the end of carefree summer days, reading under the umbrella on hot lazy afternoons.  It also meant returning home to forecasts of fog, rain,  icy snowy days and  darkness in the late afternoon.  This would be the first “empty nest” winter. The kids were both settled on campus.

It would just be Martha and Bill for the first time in many years.

 Martha smiled.

 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

One hundred words (mine was 98 this week)  Hosted by Rochelle for the weekly Friday Fictioneers.  You will enjoy the stories there.  I guarantee.

 

 

 

Friday Fictioneer

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Changes

  1. Love that last line! Who says growing older has to be depressing?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MissTiffany says:

    Oh I love it! For some an empty nest might be devastating, but I think Martha’s looking forward to having some time for just her and Bill again. Love the positivity!

    Like

  3. Ruth, Empty nest is definitely not a problem for everyone. Well written. 🙂 — Susan

    Like

  4. Margaret says:

    A wonderful story. So real. I love the seasonal setting and the connection with wintry emotions.

    Like

  5. LB says:

    Definitely smiled in my home, too!
    Nicely done, as always!

    Like

  6. Thanks for not leaving us with a sad ending! May they enjoy their empty nest.

    Like

  7. Dear Ruth,

    As one who “suffers” empty nest I related. Martha’s smile at the end says it all. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  8. Sandra says:

    Time for her to take a break. Nicely done.

    Like

  9. storydivamg says:

    That last line makes your story, Ruth. Good one this week.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

  10. Amy Reese says:

    Sounds like she is ready to settle in and enjoy this life change. Nice one!

    Like

  11. hugmamma says:

    I can relate. I love my only child dearly. But time with hubby now that we’re empty nesters is…golden.

    Like

  12. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Ruth, the end of summer is always depressing to me, I can feel all these you describe in your story. My kids are still small at home, I can’t imagine how it will be when they leave home.

    Like

  13. A smile is better than a grimace, it gives them impression of a warm and cozy winter.

    Like

  14. I think finding that the glass is still half full make all the difference.. love that smile.

    Like

  15. Nice to have a positive spin on this.
    Claire

    Like

  16. Somehow I can sense that smile at this distance – without an empty nest even.

    Like

  17. I love your 98 words– you are so good at this!

    Like

What do you think?

