Discovery

Jimmy watched his ball roll down the bridge and land amid the rubble at the edge of the boardwalk.  

“Sam! C’mere, I found something,” Jimmy yelled.

Sam hesitated. Looking over his shoulder, he took two tiny steps, then backed up.

“I’m scared.  You know Mom told us never to go down there.  She’s probably right behind us.”

“Trust me, Sam..she is not gonna get mad,” pleaded Jimmy.

Sam, not wanting to look afraid,  joined his older brother at the bottom of the bridge.  

His eyes grew big at the sight of the dirty duffle full of money.

“I think our troubles are over, man.”                                  ff 12 12 14

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Thanks to our hostess Rochelle WIsoff-Fields for choosing this week’s photo prompt which belongs to Sandra Crook.   Follow this link to read more flash fiction!  You won’t be sorry.

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Discovery

  1. Margaret says:

    What a find! I don’t think those two will tell their mother at all. They’ll bury it somewhere safe and dig it up when they’re grown, buy their mum a new house and say they won the lottery. Perfect solution. Great story – treasure in the rubbish!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can feel the hesitation and excitement of these two boys. Great dialogue. Fun find.

    Like

  3. Wonderful story, Ruth! You’ve captured the boys so well, and the thrill of such a find. Nice job!

    Like

  4. storydivamg says:

    Why do I get the feeling these boys troubles have just begun? Good story this week, Ruth.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

  5. liz young says:

    A bag full of money that doesn’t belong to them? Their troubles are just starting!

    Like

  6. LB says:

    I love the shift from fear to excitement

    Like

  7. plaridel says:

    “I think our troubles are over, man.”

    i’d rather think it’s just began. 🙂 great story.

    Like

  8. picturing these two little boys having their bubble busted as Mom sees what they have found

    Like

  9. As above, great dialogue. But will mum let them keep it? I suspect not.

    Like

  10. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Ruth,

    Love your take on the Simon and Garfunkel song. (Sandra beat me to your typo, which is perhaps an example of the ‘spellcheck is not your friend’ adage.) Good job.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  11. Dear Ruth,

    I agree with Ellespeth, I think perhaps their mom will want to find the owner of the bag. Good dialogue.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  12. Sandra says:

    Great find! Nice one. (Typo on troubled/troubles)

    Like

  13. Ellespeth says:

    🙂 Great dialogue in this piece, Ruth…I can imagine them not quite 10 yet. I’m sure mom will have them turning the bag over to the proper authorities.
    Ellespeth

    Like

What do you think?

