Doing the Best I Can

Like most mothers. I continually doubt every decision I have ever made for my children.  Should I have done this?   What if I had decided this?  I wish I would have….

My children are all grown and I now have grandchildren.  One of those is almost grown.  So why this feeling of insecurity?  Is it normal?  Are there moms out there somewhere that know they have made the right decisions every time?

I doubt it.  We are moms, which is a monumental task and we are human so we make mistakes.  As a working mom, while my kids were growing up, I felt guilty all the time.  I was too busy, I couldn’t be a room mother because I was at work, I got frustrated when they wouldn’t go to sleep because I still had so much to do.

Despite my successes and failures as a mom, my three children have turned into respectful and responsible adults. They are doing well with their own children and with their partners.  I am so proud of each of them.

Wishing all mothers a guilt-free, stress-free day full of love.

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Doing the Best I Can

  1. Margie says:

    I have lots of “I wish I had” moments too… but our kids turned out very well. I suppose it is a bit of ‘because of us’ and a bit of ‘despite us’!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LB says:

    And I wish the same for you! Hope those wonderful adult children showered you with love and appreciation!

    Like

  3. Sue Sanders says:

    Nice job, Ruth. You have just the right way with words. I love reading your work. Yes , I also agree with everything the other ladies have said. Your kids turned out well and you are still standing!
    Good job!

    Like

  4. So true. Living in the moment isn’t as easy as looking back and thinking about what we should have done.
    Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Like

  5. when you have grown kids that say they love you…show they care…ask you for advice…depend on you to have the right words …then you have done a decent job… We didn’t have instructions with our children when they were growing…More like… WE were growing up with them…So…give yourself a pat on the back… and smile!

    Like

  6. Grace says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Ruth. How fortunate your children are to have you as their Mom. x

    Like

  7. I have also been riddled with guilt about decisions made during my boys’ lifetimes. But recently (perhaps since the birth of my first grandchild in February) I’ve come to realize that the things I did (or didn’t do), said (or didn’t say), worried about (or just let go) were always ‘right’ at the time. And while there are times when I still think to myself “I wish I had [fill in the blank]”, I KNOW that things have turned out exactly as they were meant to because I did the very best I could at the time (as I’m confident you did, too!) Happy Mother’s Day!,

    Like

What do you think?

