Telling This with a Sigh…. Friday Fictioneers

Image

“Just follow the other wagons,” the farmer told his wife as he hurried in another direction.

I”ve never done this before, she murmured to herself.    She kept up with the others for awhile, but forgot how to shift the tractor into high gear.   The others were now out of sight.

Just like him, she thought.   Do this.  Do that.  I am so tired of him bossing me around.

A fork in the road…which way to turn?   She chose the one less traveled, because it looked like the middle of nowhere.

And that made all the difference.

*****************************************************************************************

with apologies to Robert Frost

THE CHALLENGE:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going a few words over the count.)

THE KEY:

MAKE. EVERY. WORD. COUNT.

Go to this website for more details…..

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Telling This with a Sigh…. Friday Fictioneers

  1. vbholmes says:

    Hope that road to the middle of nowhere led to a tractor dealer and a hay broker so she could raise the cash to get her started in her new life. Gotta be practical when you’re dealing with change.

    Like

  2. JackieP says:

    Yay!! I’m with her, go down that road and be happy!

    Like

  3. storydivamg says:

    This is the first time I’ve seen that overused and often misrepresented line from Frost without cringing. In fact, the way you use it makes me smile. Unlike Frost’s sarcastic poem, your story tells of a woman for whom a less-traveled road will make a true difference. For me, this makes the misrepresentation of Frost’s intent an effective literary tool. I’m not sure if that’s the way you meant it, but the irony works beautifully, IMHO.

    If that comment seems too abstruse, allow me to state that my inner literary critic finds this storyline impeccable. Nicely handled.

    Kindest regards,
    Marie Gail

    Like

  4. Good for her indeed! I’m sure her life turned out better for it 🙂

    Like

  5. LB says:

    Good for her!!

    Like

  6. Sorchia D says:

    Good for her!! Nice work.

    Like

  7. camgal says:

    That was awesome, Mr. Frost would be impressed 🙂

    Like

  8. Liz Young says:

    The road less travelled. Nice use of the line and I hope she found something more interesting than that husband!

    Like

  9. I liked the Frost reference, darling. Very well done.

    Like

  10. Ah, the road less travelled. Bravo.And no need to apologise. Robert’s okay with it.

    Like

  11. Sounds like she made the right choice – I wish her well!

    Like

  12. Good story and well written. There was a man who misjudged his wife. I hope she had enough gas in that tractor.

    Like

  13. Maxi says:

    The road less traveled had her name on it, Ruth.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  14. Dear Ruth,

    An adventure on a tractor. Raising my coffee cup to you and Mr. Frost.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  15. Robert says he approves and so do I!

    janet

    Like

  16. You go girl! Leave that dipshit behind 🙂

    Like

  17. writeamy says:

    Nice way to show your characters.

    Like

  18. Sandra says:

    Nice one. I love the phrase ‘the road less travelled’. I remember reading a book by M Scott Peck by that title.

    Like

  19. Dee says:

    I like your use of the fork in the road, great metaphor for their relationship.
    Dee

    Like

  20. elmowrites says:

    you have taken one of my favourite poems, and done it justice. Sometimes the mistakes are the biggest adventures. Loved your choice of title too – perfect

    Like

  21. K.Z. says:

    “She chose the one less traveled, because it looked like the middle of nowhere.” a great line, like it a lot 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

