I have been struggling with time management since my retirement in July 2011. After 35 years of being on a demanding schedule, I was suddenly free to NOT plan anything at all. And I haven’t done a very good job of much of anything! Then I had a minor surgery which has allowed me (forced me) to not do anything again. Well, you know how one blog leads to another etc.? I discovered The Writing Sisters and a simple time management tool that I am so excited to try. I just had to share because it makes so much sense and seems doable. Stop by their blog and see what they are up to!
http://writingsistersblog.wordpress.com

Writing Sisters

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management system developed by Francesco Cirillo who based his theory on the normal productive work span of a human being and Francesco’s kitchen timer — which was a large red tomato (pomodoro in Italian).

We have used the system this fall as we have collaborated on our books. It has been especially help over the holidays when time is so stretched.  It is so simple:

  • Set the timer for 25 minutes.
  • Work until the bell goes off.
  • Take a five minute break.

Some days I feel like I can’t complete an entire chapter or even a page.  When I think about just writing for the next twenty-five minutes, I can do that.

By breaking down our work into manageable chunks we conserve our energy and are more likely to keep working.

At the end of the day when we’re tired and ready to pack…

View original post 113 more words

About Life in the 50's and beyond...

Welcome to Life in the 50's and 60's and beyond .... where I write about my childhood memories, music of the 60's and about life in the country. I am a mother, grandmother, farmer's wife, business owner, and retired teacher.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to

  1. Coming East says:

    I don’t use a timer to get things done. I give myself tasks, and then I allow myself a short break to read or play my piano or violin before I start the next task. I sort of reward myself for accomplishing something. I like the timer idea for writing, though.

    Like

  2. like the idea…I’ve been retired for 2 years…and it is sometimes hard to stay on task…knowinhg I can do it later…No watch and no alarm clock…mkg

    Like

  3. Judy says:

    I’ve been retired a few years, but keep busy with a long list of things I’m either responsible for or things I really enjoy. My hat is off to you, but one of the things I really enjoy about this time of my life is doing something until I’m really bored or really tired and just stopping that particular task until tomorrow. I finish everything but I just don’t stress myself out like I did in Corporate America. Most days, I don’t even put my watch on, and I’m loving it.

    Like

  4. Amy says:

    Wait, when I’m retired I’m supposed to get things accomplished?

    Like

    • Good point. My situation is probably different than yours… I still have a lot of responsibilities with our business and also with one of my volunteer positions…. also take care of my Dad’s finances, my brother in law’s finances…… the list goes on and on, I guess I’m really not retired, am I? Just from my paying job…….

      Like

  5. lucewriter says:

    Thanks for sharing their great advice. I sort of do this instinctively, but now that I see it in black and white and the very specific act of using a timer, I think it would be more effective.

    Like

What do you think?

